The Bammy Awards – What a Shock!

 Bammy awards

 

I have been selected as a finalist for a Bammy Award in the category of Elementary Principal.  If you do not know what the Bammy Awards are, they are sort of like the Grammy’s of the educational world.  It is to celebrate public education and all that is good in the American public education system.  It has been about two weeks since I found out and I still am trying to wrap my mind around this while I try and close school.  (Really, is this happening?  As my buddy Lisa Meade says, “Yes Vic, it is!”)

I hadn’t heard of the Bammy Awards until sitting with my PLN friends, Joe Mazza and Tony Sinanis last summer during the NAESP conference in Baltimore in 2013.  We were hanging having some lunch and they started talking about the Bammy’s.  I was like, “What is it?”  Little did I know that both Tony and Joe were in as finalist for Elementary Principal.  Wow, I am with rock stars!  I can’t believe that I am presenting with these folks and having lunch with them.  I am just a peon little hillbilly principal from Northern New York working with these rock star principals, wow.  Now, I am in this category as a finalist for a Bammy Award i

I guess where I am going with this is this:  I am truly honored and humbled to be a finalist in the category of Elementary Principal with my other colleagues, Tony Sinanis, Salome Thomas El, Ben Gilpin and Julie Zuckerman.  I don’t know what to say other than thank you to Tony who nominated me, thank you to my PLN, and thank you to my staff for their constant support as well as the awesome community at East Side Elementary, parents, students and staff. I am the luckiest lead learner in the world! 

Being on the list of nominees was an honor in itself.  Being on the short list was a shock and surprise.  I am so honored to be on this list with these friends and truly am speechless!  In the end, we are all winners in my eyes as we all do what is best for our kids in public school.  I am still walking around my house thinking, “Nah, not me.”  I love what I do and and love my job, and, at the end of the day, it truly is about the kids.  My husband and I will be making the trip to Washington, D.C.  I hope to see you all there!  (Thank you to the Bammy Academy of Arts and Science.  You folks truly inspire all of us!)

The Bammy Short List for Elementary School Principal, 2014

Salome Thomas El

Tony Sinanis

Julie Zuckerman

Ben Gilpin

Vicki Day

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

