Are You Leaving a Legacy?

How do you want to be remembered?

 

Women Of The Water, Trout Lake NY
Photo by Kathryn Craft


I live on a beautiful “Adirondack” lake in Northern New York.  I put Adirondack in quotes because we are just 5 miles north of the Adirondack line, you know, all the beauty of the Adirondacks except for the taxes, zoning and mountain views.  We have fun events on the lake, Quadratholons, boat tie-ups, card playing, winter sports, you name it.  Recently, a friend of mine invited me to come to her place and join other ladies, or what we call the W.O.W. club.  (Women Of The Water).  My husband calls it the “hen club”, but what does he know.  We enjoy the company, sharing stories, laughs, and life’s adventures.

A member of our W.O.W. club is Kathryn Craft, a writer and novelist who will be releasing her book The Art of Falling in January.  Kathryn shared with us why she writes and shared of the legacy that she wants to leave.  As we were sitting there talking, I was reflecting, thinking how I will be leaving a legacy.  What do I want people to say about me when I leave this earth?  I think about this every day and being a breast cancer survivor, every day is a gift to me.

You know, as educators and teachers, we influence and touch so many lives.  We mold our students, our children, to be better citizens and to be the best they can be.  In that realm, there is no room for demeaning criticism, “put-downs” or sarcasm to our students.  We have to be the role models for our students and children.  They are our future and they will be taking care of us.  How will they remember you?  Will you get those great notes from former students or not? 

Kathryn is passionate about her book, rightfully so,  Not every day do I get to sit with a novelist and published writer and share life’s great adventures.  Kathryn has touched me and I am grateful to be a part of a relationship, because isn’t that what life is about – relationships?  Kathryn gets it – she will leave a wonderful legacy and this will be through her writing and her relationships.  What will your legacy be?  How do you want to be remembered?  Start thinking about it, and get moving, influencing and touching people.  Life is too short!

  1. #1 by Kathryn Craft on August 24, 2013 - 7:10 pm

    I'm really touched by this post, thank you. It fits in so perfectly with a discussion I've been having today on Facebook about my discomfort at being called someone's “peep.” Even though I understand those are public posts, I like to believe it's about building relationships, and not like I've been relegated to someone's minion. And you got that about me, even though we never discussed it!

    You pay attention, Vicki, and think deeply, as a good educator should. I have no doubt you'll leave a legacy of leadership and love.

  2. #2 by Victoria L. Day on August 24, 2013 - 7:16 pm

    Yes, I did pay attention. I am quiet, but I am listening. That was a big take away for me. Told you it resonated. Glad to build the relationship! – Vicki

Leave a Reply

